November 15, 2013

  • Little Cheeky Dees

    Now that I'm in Las Pinas, where everyone has responsibility so that I'm basically left to my own device, there really has been nothing for me to do but to internet, curse the heat, miss my dog and occasionally go to the gym behind aunt's house.

    Yesterday was a new experience though, as I was finishing up on leg day, aunt had me try out boxing/muai thai with the instructor they have.  They've been telling me to try it out for a whiele now actually, it's just that there are always so many people around that I find it awkward to. But  enjoyed it I did. I have wanted to try  out kickboxing for years now, I've never been able to because I didn't have the means to  new experiences and thing's I'm not familiar with intimidates me. I'm glad I had the instructor to myself for a while, as I felt less afraid to try it out. I got the hang of it pretty quick, and as egocentric as it sound, I felt quite accomplish and pride swelled in me when the instructor -and eventually one student- threw me praises throughout.  I would have gone for another round today, but then hoards of other students were there. Maybe next time when I get over myself.

    And since my arrival back, auntie has also taken it to herself to have me made over to a proper young lady, little by little.

    11/06

    Clyndamycine. I kept racking my brains why this pills sounds so familiar. 2 days later, I remember it's the exact same acne meds I got samples of.

    Had a little scare after consulting the doctor. It took so long for me to seek medical help because I had to sort things out with my insurance  I kept putting off taking care of my insurance. Eventually, I just went in with the cousins. It was a quick visit anyhow; the doctor palpated the lump under my chin, check my ears/nostrils, listened to my breathing with a stethoscope then wrote me an antibiotics prescription for reactive lymphadenitis. THEN there was an extra set of prescription for a chest x-ray request, because just in case it wasn't just a bad case of swollen lymph due to infection, the doctor's next best guest was tuberculosis.   Thankfully, the day after my last course of antibiotics, the lump went away *phew

     

    11/09

    After weeks of speculating when it would be that I would meet my youngest uncle's wife and infamous kids, Ate DR finally spared her weekend to accompany me.

    So far, I've been getting up and about through the dreadful commute "system" (???). Never have I ever missed BC's modes of public  transportation  so much than I have now. I mean, I've always had a big appreciation for it, hell, I actually prefer it than driving. I'm not entirely whining, so far it's been an adventure being able to recount the experience of riding the jeepneys, tricycles, MRT, bus', cabs and vans; all I'm missing from the list is the LRT and FX . It's just that with no fix and absolute way of getting from one destination to another, I don't dare explore on my own. It feels crippling really.

    Cousin had been craving for pizza so aunt took us to Yellow Cab for dinner. Then we watched Thor 2 after. Aunt says she's not usually one to take out the car for a drive because she doesn't know how to park, but because I was there to finish the job, she risked it. 

     

    Maybe having everyone tell me all about auntie, and having Ate around put me at ease, because I've taken up to aunt, her family and her home instantaneously. Really, she could be my older sister since she is young.  Her children took all of 5 minutes to welcome my yet-unknown presence, which, as far as all of my little cousins are concerned, has to be the record. I especially and immediately fell in love with the little girl as every body has told me I would. In fact, I already thought of missing her before we even left, and blogging about this and looking at the pictures gives me a sense of lost for not having a baby sibling of my own, and anticipation and reaffirmation of wanting children in the future.

    SHE IS JUST TOO MUCH! I know I'm not supposed to, but if I could choose favourites between my little cousins, I would have this little cutie-patoots right here, and Manong. 

     

    So that's that! I've finally met all the cousins!!

    11/10

    Our little evening date. This area reminds me of downtown Vancouver.

    The original plan was that we spend the night at Tita Tek's, then leave early to meet Tita Elaine's family at the church. However, we were just so comfortable lounging around -ate in her borrowed shorts, me in Nanay's mumu- that we just didn't have the energy to get up and get ready. We actually didn't even leave the house until about 5-6pm. And even after, we didn't go straight to auntie's, actually we didn't go at all. After going back to the mall to take care of a few of Ate's errands, we chose to stroll around and then she brought me to this -what is considered as "high end"- strip mall where we had mediocre cupcakes and god-awful beverages.  Though, taking the time to catch up and basically just get reacquainted more than made up for that failure of a drink and pastry. It was already so late when we finished. Ate had wanted to drop off her stuff at her home, then drop me off home, that I thought it would be unwise. Instead, I suggested that I spend the night over. It was yet another interesting commute, looking back now, I really hope I wasn't too embarrassed to look like a tourist and have the guts to stop and take pictures. From now on, I shall make more of an effort, after all I am on a vacation.

    More pictures of the past. Oh where, oh where has the years gone?

    The next day, I spent most of my time catching up with Ate's mom. I don't ever remember her being that cool/vulgar/hip/young/whatever. It was funny how she was voluntarily dishing out her love life to me, which quite frankly, I had no idea how else, besides laughter to respond.

    As it was Monday, one of the five usual days  for adults to be responsible, I had to wait fro Ate to finish her shift at work. We didn't get going until about 5 in the evening. It's funny how normal it is here to cross a street with traffic in full force, as though a skeleton covered in a few pounds of meat and skin is much stronger than a speedy machinery of metal, meanwhile there I am, always feeling like I'm playing Russian Roulette with my life. Or maybe, that game where you have to successfully get your player to cross one end to another without getting flattened, is more of an accurate comparison.

    11/13

    Aleck's birthday was on the 14, so the day before, we went to -what seems to me- one of the many malls around to buy him presents. It may sound rich coming from someone who spent the last 10 years in a developed country, but I still can't seem to get over the fact that at this very moment, -especially with the recent typhoon that badly devastated large parts of the Philippines-, too many people are without even the bare necessity and yet things of luxury exists in sizable, but selected parts of this country.

    A little love from Thailand Ah, the power of technology. Had a somewhat brief talk/catch up/girlfriend time with Supa. Since, were both in Asia now, there is only 1 hour time difference.

    11/14

    For Aleck's birthday, after my first session of boxing/muai thai, the family plus yours truly set out to find a buffet as an evening celebration. I finally had a little sneak peak of MOA before we landed on Yaki Mix, a Japanese all you can eat buffet restaurant.

    The pictures may say otherwise, but in truth, I just don't feel the same -or any warmth for that matter- from Alexa the same way I do with every other cousin. Maybe its from years of feeling rejected by her, but try as I may, the feeling I get from her is that of someone who is essentially forced to interact and entertain a visitor who shares her home temporarily. Sharing a long history as children, as adults we just don't click, and I'm okay with it. 

     

     

    -Elle Are Emm